Class Schedule

Testing Info



Rules of the Do Jang

Korean Terminology

One Step Sparring



Birthday Party

Contact Us/Directions


Please click on the name of the form you would like to view.

Color Belt Poomsae

Taegeuk 1 Jang(Yellow Belt)

Taegeuk 1 Jang represents the symbol of "Keon", one of the 8 Kwaes {divination signs}, which means the Heaven and "yang" . As the "Keon" symbolizes the begining of the creation of all things in the universe, so does the Taegeuk 1 Jang in the training of Taekwondo.This poomsae is characterized by its easiness in practicing, largely consisting of walking and basic actions. such as arae-makki, momtong-makki, momtong-jireugi, and ap-chagi. The 8th Kup-grade trainees practice this poomsae.

Taegeuk 2 Jang(Yellow/Green Stripe Belt)

Taegeuk 2 Jang symbolizes the "tae", one of the 8divination signs, which signifies the inner firmness and the outer softness. An introduction of the olgulmakki is a new development of Taegeuk poomsae. The apchagi actions appear more frequently than in Taegeuk 1 Jang. The 7th Kup-grade trainees practice this poomsae.

Taegeuk 3 Jang(Green Belt)

Taegeuk 3 Jang symbolizes the "ra", one of the 8divination signs, which represents "hot and bright". This is to encourage the trainees to harbor a sense of justice and ardor for training. A successful accomplishment of this poomsae will give the trainees a promotion to a 5th Kup-grade. New actions are sonnal mokchigi, sonnal makki and the dwitkubi stance. This poomsae is characterized by successive makki and chigi, and chagi and continuous jireugis. Emphasis is laid on the counterattacks against the opponent's chigi. The 6th Kup-grade trainees can practice this poomsae.

Taegeuk 4 Jang(Green/Blue Stripe Belt)

Taegeuk 4 Jang symbolizes the "jin", one of the 8divination signs, which represents the thunder meaning great power and dignity. New techniques are sonnal momtong makki, pyonsonkkeut tzireugi, jebipoom mok-chigi, yop-chagi, momtong bakkat
makki, deungjumeok olgul apchigi. It is characterized by various movements in preparation for the kyorugi and lot of dwitkubi seogi cases. The 5th Kup-grade trainees practice this poomsae.

Taegeuk 5 Jang(Blue Belt)

Taegeuk 5 Jang symbolizes the "son", one of the 8divination signs, which represents the wind, meaning both mighty force and calmness according to its strength and weakness. New movements are mejumeok naeryochigi, palkup dollyochigi, yopchagi and yopjireugi, palkup pyojeokchigi and such stances as kkoaseogi, wenseogi and oreunsogi. This is characterized by the successive makkis such as aremakki and momtong makki and also the chigi by tumbling after running. The 4th Kup-grade trainees practice this poomsae.

Taegeuk 6 Jang(Blue/Red Stripe Belt)

Taegeuk 6 Jang symbolizes the "Kam", one of the 8divination signs, which represents water, meaning incessant flow and softness. New movements are hansonnal olgul bakkat makki, dollyo-chagi, olgul bakkat-makki and batangson momtong makki in addition to pyonhiseogi (at-ease stance). One should be careful to make the kicking foot land on the ground correctly after dollyo-chagi and to lower the hand by a palm's length at the time of delivering a batangson momtong makki lower than in the palmok-makki. This is practiced by the 3rd Kup-graders.

Taegeuk 7 Jang(Red Belt)

Taegeuk 7 Jang symbolizes the "kan", one of the 8divination signs, which represents the mountain, meaning ponderosity and firmness. New movements are sonnal arae-makki, batangson kodureo makki, bojumeok, kawi makki, mureup chigi, momtong hecho makki, jechin-dujumeok momtong-jireugi, otkoreo arae-makki, pyojeok-chigi, yop-jireugi and such stances as beom-seogi and juchum-seogi. Smooth connection of movements is important for training. The 2nd Kup-graders practice this poomsae.

Taegeuk 8 Jang(Red/Black Stripe Belt)

Taegeuk 8 Jang symbolizes the "kon", one of the 8divination signs, which represents "yin" and earth, meaning the root and settlement and also the beginning and the end. This is the last of the 8 Taegeuk poomsaes, which may enable the trainees to undergo the Dan(black belt) promotion test. New movements are dubaldangsong, bakkatpalmok momtong kodureo bakkat-makki, thwio-chagi, and palkup dollyo chigi. Emphasis must be laid on the accuracy of stepping and the difference between jumping-over kick and dubal-dangsong (alternate jumping kick in the air). The 1st Kup-graders practice this poomsae.

Black Belt Poomse

Koryo(1st Dan)

Koryo is the name of an ancient dynasty in the Korean peninsula. The English name of "Korea" originated from the name of this "Koryo" dynasty with which was famed for the valiant spirit of its people which they defeated the Mongolian aggression. Koryo Poomsae is based on spirit of / sonbae(Sonbi) which was inherited from Koguryo to Balhae and to Koryo. Sonbae means strong martial art and honest spirit of scholars.

Keumgang(2nd Dan)

The word "Keumgang" has originally the meaning of being too strong to be broken. Also in Buddhism, what can break off every agony of mind with combination of wisdom and virtue is called "Keumgang". The Poomsae "Keumgang" is named after Mount Keumgang, symbol of solidity. "keumgang" is also anlogous of "diamond".

Taebaek(3rd Dan)

"Taebaek" is the ancient name of Mount Paekdu where the legendary Tangun founded a nation for the first time in the Korean peninsula 4,329 years ago on Tangun calendar (1996 A.D.=4329 Tangun year). Poomsae "Taebaek" takes its principles of movement from the word "Taebaek" which means being looked up to as sacred.

Pyongwon(4th Dan)

"Pyongwon" is meant by 'vast plain'. The plain is a source of sustaining the human life and, on the other hand, a great open plain stretching out endlessly gives us a feeling of majesty that is different from what we feel with a mountain or the sea. An application of the providence of the plain which is blessed with abundance and grace as well as boundless vastness into the practice of Taekwondo is Poomse Pyongwon (plain).

Sipjin(5th Dan)

Sipjin has the meaning of 'decimal system' which stands for a symbolical figure of 10 meaning endless development and growth in a systematic order. In Poomse sipjin, stability is sought in every change of movements.

Jitae(6th Dan)

According to the oriental belief, all living things come from and return to the earth (Jitae is derived from the meaning of the earth). The earth is indeed the origin and terminal of life. Living things as well as all the natural phenomena of the earth Poomsae "Jitae" is the movement which supplies these features of the earth.

Chonkwon(7th Dan)

Chonkwon" signifies the sky. From ancient times the Orientals have always believed and worshipped the sky as ruler of the universe and human beings. The infinitely vast sky may be a mysterious and profound world of imagination in the eyes of finite human beings. Poomsae Chonkwon is composed of the motions which are full of piety and vitality.

Hansu(8th Dan)

Poomsae "hansu" derived from the word 'water' is typical with its fluidity and adaptability as manifested in the nature of water.

Ilyeo(9th Dan)

"Ilyeo" signifies oneness. In buddhism the state of spiritual cultivation is said to be "Ilyeo" (oneness), in which body and mind, I (subject) and you (object), spirit and substance are unified into oneness. The ultimate ideal of Taekwondo lies in this state of Ilyeo. The final goal Taekwondo pursues is indeed a discipline in which we concentrate attention pursues is indeed a discipline in which we concentrate attention on every movement, shaking off all worldly thoughts and obsessions.